Debt Collection

January 15, 2010 at 9:57 am (Thoughts on Living Life)

In our society, we have these phrases. Things like:

“You deserve better”

“I don’t deserve this”

“Don’t you get what you deserve?”

I’ve comet to conclude that these kinds of things are poisonous to our living.

Granted, depending on your worldview, there are certain things that we deserve simply by existing, such as food, water, life, liberty, the pursuit of happiness; but let me ask you this:

Who told you that you deserved such things? Rather, who told you that you deserved anything at all?

How does the world work like that? If you’re a Christian, how does God even work like that?

If you don’t believe in God, where did you get the idea that everything has to “balance out” somehow? Certainly can’t be personal experience; if you take a tally of “bad” and “good” things that happened to people (and were somehow able to assign a quantifiable value of “badness” and “goodness” to them), you wound find that it does not balance out perfectly or even close to perfectly. Maybe with a few people, but those few people certainly don’t justify the system of “karma”. The truth is, bad things and good things happen to people in “unfair” ways. There’s no way around this.

If you do believe in God, then where do you get the idea that you deserve anything at all? If you’re a Christian, you likely believe we were once sinners, deserving of nothing but death. You likely also believe that Jesus came and took on that punishment for our sinfulness all upon himself, since He was completely blameless and could totally do that. Therefore, we’re now justified by God’s mercy and grace and forgiveness because He saw fit to send His son to pave the way for us.

Figuring that, where do you get that idea that you deserve anything at all?

As a side note, Pat Robertson, a well-renowned “Christian”, is known for making comments about natural disasters being God’s direct punishment upon the sections of the world they hit, directly saying or not-so-subtly implying that they “deserved it and I told you so” (the most recent of which are his comments on the Haiti situation). I’d like to take this time to say that Mr. Robertson is an idiot who doesn’t know what he’s talking about, and is actually doing more harm to God’s Kingdom than help. In essence, I’m not with this guy.

The way I see it:

Asking for things from God is completely ok and even encouraged; He’s a great, merciful, and loving God who loves giving gifts and other things to His children who ask for them. He loves blessing us because He loves seeing us happy. (He doesn’t always give us good things because He values our growth more than that…that’s an entirely different discussion).

Therefore, asking for blessings and gifts is good and healthy.

But this whole attitude that we deserve anything is (in my humble opinion) absolutely ridiculous.

What’s the solution to this problem?

Through thinking on this topic and going through the process of realizing that I didn’t deserve anything, what came out of that was a severe and abounding sense of gratitude. I became more and more grateful for the things that I had and that God had blessed me with.

This doesn’t have to be the same exact way for you, but I think adopting a sense of gratitude easily dispels any sense of entitlement you may have to anything.

I suppose if I had more time I could elaborate on why the sense of entitlement is so “very, very bad”, but I have to go to work now and can’t. Boo hoo 😦

5 Comments

  1. Brian Forbes said,

    What is wrong with Pat Robertson’s perspective now? Does God never judge? If He did, what would it look like? Have you ever watched the 700 club? The guy is actually a Christian, not just a “Christian”. Sometimes we do deserve judgment.

  2. mynameischandler said,

    I have no qualms at this time about the “God Judging” part; the main problem I have is with his attitude of “Well, they had it coming”; especially so shortly after the quake, when the opportunity for Christian charity and aid would have been (in my opinion) the best way to win them over to Christ, he chose to say they were cursed and deserved whatever happened to them.

    I also take issue with a man who consistently makes large, vague predictions about world events and claims that they’re from God.

  3. Brian Forbes said,

    I’m not going to say that I know that he is hearing from God. I’m more interested in how we would know if he was. When I read the biblical prophets, they were quite as insensitive as PR was in his comments. What are the criteria we might use to determine if a message is, in fact, from God. Or do we just go by our gut? Maybe public reaction?

    Pat Robertson does that healing prayer stuff on TV. He’ll be praying, say how someone has some specific condition, and like a month later, they’ll show the testimony of the person who was healed. If he wasn’t actually hearing from God, how does that happen? Is it a hoax?

    • mynameischandler said,

      I don’t have an answer for that right now, and I’m not really interested in debating this further; I wrote this over a year ago and haven’t kept up on PR much, mostly because the amount I’ve cared has waned. I’m content just leaving this as is and thinking about the questions you’ve posed.

      • Brian Forbes said,

        That’s fine. I’m not looking for a debate, as I don’t have an answer either. If you have an answer, I welcome the input.

Leave a comment